Reference: 38 CFR 4.123, 4.124, 4.124a

Sources & Related Guides

What is the VA rating for Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity?

VA disability ratings for upper-extremity peripheral nerve conditions range from 0% to 90% under 38 CFR 4.124a (Diagnostic Codes 8510 to 8719). The 90% maximum reflects complete paralysis of all radicular groups under DC 8513, while isolated median, radial, and ulnar neuropathy rates up to 70% based on mild, moderate, or severe paralysis across the major and minor arm.

Condition Overview & Clinical Scope

VA rates upper-extremity peripheral nerve conditions across 30 diagnostic codes covering 10 nerves, in 3 categories: paralysis (DC 8510-8519), neuritis (DC 8610-8619), and neuralgia (DC 8710-8719). This is a corrected scope -- the commonly-cited 'DC 8510-8519' framing names only the 10 paralysis codes; the other 20 codes are physically interleaved into the same regulatory table and share the exact same 10 per-nerve severity scales, just capped differently. Two of the ten nerves covered here are the median nerve (DC 8515), commonly associated with carpal tunnel syndrome, and the ulnar nerve (DC 8516), commonly associated with cubital tunnel syndrome.

EXPLORE THIS CONDITION

Explore Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity Criteria & Tools

Save this condition to find it again later. Saved only on this device and browser. Never sent to RatingScope. Lost if you clear browser data or switch devices or browsers.

Overview

About this condition

VA rates upper-extremity peripheral nerve conditions across 30 diagnostic codes covering 10 nerves, in 3 categories: paralysis (DC 8510-8519), neuritis (DC 8610-8619), and neuralgia (DC 8710-8719). This is a corrected scope -- the commonly-cited 'DC 8510-8519' framing names only the 10 paralysis codes; the other 20 codes are physically interleaved into the same regulatory table and share the exact same 10 per-nerve severity scales, just capped differently. Two of the ten nerves covered here are the median nerve (DC 8515), commonly associated with carpal tunnel syndrome, and the ulnar nerve (DC 8516), commonly associated with cubital tunnel syndrome.

Regulatory authority: 38 CFR 4.123, 4.124, 4.124a, Diagnostic Codes 8510-8519 (paralysis), 8610-8619 (neuritis), 8710-8719 (neuralgia)

This hub explains the published DC 8510-8519/8610-8619/8710-8719 schedule and common record language. It does not diagnose a condition, determine service connection, infer undocumented findings, estimate an outcome, or replace medical care or accredited representation. IMPORTANT DISCLOSURES: (1) DC 8519 (long thoracic nerve)'s own Note states, verbatim, confirmed via two independent primary sources: 'Not to be combined with lost motion above shoulder level.' The regulation names no diagnostic code as the target. RatingScope reads this as most likely reaching DC 5201 (limitation of shoulder motion, live via this site's Shoulder/Arm hub), since DC 8519's own complete-paralysis criterion is also phrased in terms of motion above shoulder level and DC 5201 is the only 38 CFR 4.71a code phrased the same way -- but that reading is RatingScope's own interpretation, not text printed in the regulation, and the Note does not state which evaluation would control if both applied. The Note is also printed directly after DC 8519's own rows and before the DC 8619 (neuritis) and DC 8719 (neuralgia) lines of the same nerve -- RatingScope treats the Note as governing DC 8519 specifically, the code it is directly attached to, and does not assume it also bars combining a DC 8619 or DC 8719 rating of the same nerve with shoulder motion, since the regulation does not say either way. This is disclosed as a cross-hub anti-pyramiding rule to check separately, never auto-computed across hub boundaries. (2) Neuritis and neuralgia carry NO percentage of their own in the regulation's table -- both categories are rated entirely by reusing the SAME nerve's paralysis table, capped differently: neuritis caps at severe incomplete paralysis if 'organic changes' are documented present, or moderate incomplete if not; neuralgia caps at moderate incomplete always. 'Complete' paralysis is never reachable via either neuritis or neuralgia. (3) The term 'organic changes' is confirmed, via fresh verbatim fetch, to be UNDEFINED anywhere in the regulation's own text -- a genuinely open interpretive question (per RSCH-045's NHD-1/NHD-2), disclosed rather than guessed in either direction. (4) DC 8513 ('all radicular groups,' this schedule's highest ceiling at 90/80 percent) has NO corresponding item anywhere in VA's current Peripheral Nerves DBQ -- a real structural examination-tooling gap, not something this hub works around by quietly omitting the code. (5) The live Radiculopathy hub on this same site currently covers only 2 of the 11 lower-extremity peripheral-nerve codes (sciatic, femoral) -- disclosed clearly here so that hub is never assumed comprehensive of the full peripheral-nerve schedule if cross-referenced. (6) DC 8514 (radial nerve)'s own Note caps certain lesion patterns (dissociation of, or paralysis below, the extensor communis digitorum) at moderate regardless of otherwise-documented severity. (7) 38 CFR 4.124a's general principles state, verbatim, confirmed via two independent primary sources: 'When the involvement is wholly sensory, the rating should be for the mild, or at most, the moderate degree.' This caps every one of this hub's 10 nerve tables at moderate incomplete paralysis at most whenever the documented findings are wholly sensory (no motor component) -- severe incomplete and complete paralysis are not reachable under a wholly sensory picture, regardless of how severe the sensory symptoms themselves read. (8) 38 CFR 4.124a's general principles also state, verbatim, confirmed via two independent primary sources: 'The ratings for the peripheral nerves are for unilateral involvement; when bilateral, combine with application of the bilateral factor.' This directs the 38 CFR 4.26 bilateral factor for documented bilateral upper-extremity nerve involvement (e.g. left and right arm both affected) -- notably the OPPOSITE of the cranial-nerve schedule's own rule, which combines bilateral findings WITHOUT the bilateral factor. RatingScope discloses this rule; it does not itself perform the 38 CFR 4.25/4.26 combination. (9) A separate Note, 'Combined nerve injuries should be rated by reference to the major involvement, or if sufficient in extent, consider radicular group ratings,' is printed only once, after the long thoracic nerve's DC 8519/8619/8719 lines, and is not repeated for this hub's other 9 nerves -- RatingScope reads this as tied to the long thoracic nerve specifically, not general to the whole schedule, while disclosing that a pending rulemaking's own proposed relabeling (RIN 2900-AQ73, unfinalized) suggests VA may read it as DC 8519's.

Percentage Guides

Understanding Your Percentage

Select a pathway to see what the published criteria ask about, what records may clarify it, and what should not be assumed.

90% (DC 8513, all radicular groups, complete paralysis, Major)

Highest listed pathway

Complete paralysis of all radicular groups (the highest ceiling in this entire 30-code schedule), major (dominant) extremity.

What separates the next level: DC 8510/8511/8512 (single radicular groups) top out at 70/60 percent -- DC 8513's involvement of ALL radicular groups is what reaches this schedule's true ceiling.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
8513 All radicular groups: Complete paralysis -- Major 90, Minor 80.
Qualification explanation
Reached when all radicular groups (not just one, as in DC 8510/8511/8512) are completely paralyzed.
Examples
Records document complete paralysis affecting all cervical radicular groups on the dominant arm.
Medical evidence
Peripheral Nerves DBQ (note: DC 8513 itself has no corresponding DBQ item -- see the dedicated disclosure); Neurological examination records documenting the extent of radicular group involvement
Functional impact examples
Complete loss of function across all radicular groups of the affected arm.
Common misconceptions
DC 8513 is not simply 'DC 8510 but worse' -- it is a distinct code specifically for when ALL radicular groups (not just upper, middle, or lower alone) are affected.
Related topics
8513-dbq-gap; shared-table-architecture
Source context
38 CFR 4.124a; 8513; Current DC 8510-8719 educational pathway. RIN 2900-AQ73 (high-priority watch, published as a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on 2024-11-12, comment period closed 2025-01-13, not yet finalized) proposes retitling and revising 38 CFR 4.120, 4.123, 4.124, and 4.124a -- eliminating the DC 8600 (neuritis) and DC 8700 (neuralgia) series entirely and rating all peripheral nerve conditions under the paralysis (DC 85xx) codes instead, incorporating specific muscle-strength grading (Medical Research Council-style Grade 0 through Grade 3+) for motor findings. Whether the resulting percentage values would exactly match today's figures is not confirmed by any accessible primary source and is not assumed here.

50% (DC 8614, radial nerve neuritis, severe, Major, with organic changes)

Highest listed pathway

Neuritis of the radial (musculospiral) nerve, capped at the severe-incomplete-paralysis ceiling, major extremity -- reached only when 'organic changes' are documented present.

What separates the next level: The identical underlying clinical picture, without documented organic changes, is capped DOWN to DC 8514's moderate-incomplete value (30 percent major) instead -- see the dedicated disclosure on this undefined term.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
38 CFR 4.123: 'Neuritis... is to be rated on the scale provided for injury of the nerve involved, with a maximum equal to severe, incomplete, paralysis' [when organic changes are present].
Qualification explanation
This is DC 8514's own severe-incomplete value (50 percent major), reused directly for DC 8614 -- neuritis carries no percentage of its own.
Examples
Records document severe radial nerve neuritis with documented loss of reflexes and muscle atrophy (offered as one possible reading of 'organic changes').
Medical evidence
Peripheral Nerves DBQ; Neurological examination records documenting reflexes, atrophy, and other objective findings
Functional impact examples
Severe radial nerve neuritis with objective findings beyond subjective pain alone.
Common misconceptions
Neuritis can NEVER reach DC 8514's complete-paralysis value (70 percent major) -- even with organic changes present and a clinically complete-appearing picture, the ceiling is severe-incomplete.
Related topics
organic-changes-undefined; shared-table-architecture
Source context
38 CFR 4.123; 8614; Current DC 8610-8619 educational pathway.

30% (DC 8714, radial nerve neuralgia, moderate cap, Major)

Highest listed pathway

Neuralgia of the radial nerve, capped at the moderate-incomplete-paralysis ceiling, major extremity -- always, regardless of how severe the underlying picture appears.

What separates the next level: Unlike neuritis, neuralgia's cap has NO organic-changes exception -- it never reaches the severe-incomplete tier under any documented circumstance (the tic douloureux/trigeminal-neuralgia exception to this cap is cranial-nerve-specific and does not apply anywhere in this upper-extremity hub).

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
38 CFR 4.124: 'Neuralgia... is to be rated on the same scale, with a maximum equal to moderate incomplete paralysis.'
Qualification explanation
This is DC 8514's own moderate-incomplete value (30 percent major), reused directly for DC 8714.
Examples
Records document radial nerve neuralgia with a clinically severe presentation, still capped at the moderate tier.
Medical evidence
Peripheral Nerves DBQ; Examination records documenting pain distribution and severity
Functional impact examples
Neuralgic pain along the radial nerve distribution.
Common misconceptions
A 'severe' or 'complete'-sounding clinical description does not raise neuralgia's rating above this moderate cap -- unlike neuritis, there is no exception that unlocks a higher tier.
Related topics
shared-table-architecture
Source context
38 CFR 4.124; 8714; Current DC 8710-8719 educational pathway.

0% (DC 8517/8518/8519, mild tier)

Next: 10%/20%/30% (varies by nerve)

Mild incomplete paralysis of the musculocutaneous, circumflex (axillary), or long thoracic nerves is a genuine, explicitly stated 0 percent outcome for both Major and Minor extremities.

What separates the next level: This 0 percent is unusual among the 10 nerves -- most other nerves' mild tiers carry a real compensable percentage (e.g. DC 8510's mild tier is 20 percent for both sides).

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
8517 Musculocutaneous nerve: Mild -- Major 0, Minor 0. (Identical structure for DC 8518 and DC 8519.)
Qualification explanation
These three nerves' mild tiers are explicitly 0 percent -- a real, stated regulatory outcome, not a gap or an omission.
Examples
Records document mild incomplete paralysis of the long thoracic nerve, with minimal functional effect.
Medical evidence
Peripheral Nerves DBQ
Functional impact examples
Mild nerve involvement with minimal functional impact.
Common misconceptions
This 0 percent applies only to these 3 specific nerves' mild tiers -- most other nerves in this schedule have a real compensable percentage at every tier.
Related topics
shared-table-architecture
Source context
38 CFR 4.124a; 8517/8518/8519; Current DC 8510-8519 educational pathway.

Learn

Understand the details behind the criteria

Use these short guides to connect published terms with the records and observations that may clarify them.

Why major and minor extremity ratings differ

All 30 codes in this schedule distinguish the major and minor extremity. That means which arm is affected, and which arm is dominant, can change how a published pathway is described.

  • The dominant arm is commonly called the major extremity in the schedule; the nondominant arm is commonly called the minor extremity.
  • A right arm is not always the major extremity, and a left arm is not always the minor extremity.
  • Records are clearest when the DBQ or exam identifies the affected nerve, side, and dominant hand directly.
  • RatingScope does not infer dominant-side status when it is missing.

Records to review: Peripheral Nerves DBQ; dominant-hand documentation; C&P examination history.

One table per nerve, shared across 3 categories

All 30 codes in this hub reduce to just 10 underlying tables -- one per nerve. Paralysis (DC 8510-8519) uses the full table (mild through complete). Neuritis (DC 8610-8619) and neuralgia (DC 8710-8719) reuse the EXACT SAME table for that nerve, just capped at a lower ceiling -- confirmed directly in the regulation's own table, where DC 8610-8619 and 8710-8719 appear as bare code-and-title entries with no percentage column of their own at all.

  • Neuritis caps at severe incomplete paralysis (if 'organic changes' are documented present) or moderate incomplete (if not) -- complete paralysis is never reachable via neuritis.
  • Neuralgia caps at moderate incomplete paralysis always -- severe and complete are never reachable via neuralgia (the trigeminal/tic douloureux exception to this cap applies only to a cranial nerve, not to any nerve in this hub's upper-extremity scope).
  • This means, for example, DC 8614 (radial nerve neuritis) and DC 8714 (radial nerve neuralgia) both reuse DC 8514's own percentage numbers -- they are not separate scales with their own numbers.

Records to review: Peripheral Nerves DBQ; Neurological examination records documenting the specific nerve, severity, and category.

"Organic changes": a genuinely undefined term

38 CFR 4.123's neuritis cap depends entirely on whether 'organic changes' are present -- but the regulation never defines this term anywhere in its own text, confirmed via fresh verbatim fetch.

  • Per RSCH-045's own research, this ambiguity has two layers: what 'organic changes' means at all (commonly read as loss of reflexes and muscle atrophy, but not defined as such in the text), and whether 'not characterized by organic changes' requires the complete absence of ALL such changes or just any one.
  • RatingScope discloses this as a genuinely open interpretive question -- it does not guess a definition or default to either the severe or moderate cap when organic-changes status is undocumented.
  • This same ambiguity underlies a separate, unrelated regulatory contradiction specific to the sciatic nerve (lower extremity, not covered in this hub) -- confirmed by RSCH-045 as a genuine defect in the regulation itself, not something arising in any of this hub's 10 upper-extremity nerves.

Records to review: Neurological examination records documenting reflexes, muscle atrophy, and other objective findings.

DC 8513: a real gap in VA's own examination form

DC 8513 ('all radicular groups') is this entire 30-code schedule's highest ceiling (90/80 percent) -- but has no corresponding item anywhere in VA's current Peripheral Nerves DBQ.

  • The DBQ's relevant section runs nine items covering the other radicular-group and named-nerve codes, but skips DC 8513 entirely -- confirmed via direct examination of the current form.
  • Per the source-hierarchy discipline this repository follows, the eCFR governs regardless of DBQ silence -- DC 8513 remains a real, ratable code and is fully represented in this hub's own criteria, not quietly omitted just because the standard exam form has no matching checkbox.
  • This is disclosed as a genuine structural examination-tooling gap, not something to work around by only offering the nine codes the DBQ names.

Records to review: Peripheral Nerves DBQ (does not include a DC 8513-specific item); Neurological examination records documenting the extent of radicular group involvement, however captured.

What the Radiculopathy hub does and doesn't cover

This site's separate Radiculopathy hub covers only 2 of the 11 lower-extremity peripheral-nerve codes (sciatic, DC 8520; femoral, DC 8526) -- disclosed clearly here so it is never assumed comprehensive of the full peripheral-nerve schedule if cross-referenced.

  • The Radiculopathy hub's own summary text does say 'sciatic and femoral' explicitly, so this is not a factual error in that hub -- but its general 'lower-extremity radiculopathy' framing can read as more comprehensive than it is.
  • This hub (Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity) and the Radiculopathy hub cover entirely separate anatomical territory (upper vs. lower extremity) with no overlap -- this disclosure is about not over-assuming completeness on the lower-extremity side, not about any conflict between the two hubs.

Records to review: This site's Radiculopathy hub.

DC 8519's cross-hub bar with shoulder motion

DC 8519 (long thoracic nerve)'s own Note states, verbatim, confirmed via two independent primary sources: 'Not to be combined with lost motion above shoulder level.' The regulation names no diagnostic code as the target -- RatingScope reads this as most likely reaching DC 5201, live on this site's Shoulder/Arm hub, but that is RatingScope's own interpretation, not regulatory text.

  • DC 8519's own complete-paralysis criterion is phrased 'inability to raise arm above shoulder level,' and DC 5201 is the only 38 CFR 4.71a code phrased in terms of shoulder level, which is why RatingScope reads DC 5201 as the most likely target. This is a well-supported reading, not a confirmed one -- the regulation's own text does not cite DC 5201 or any other code by number.
  • The Note also supplies no 'whichever is higher,' 'rate as,' or 'predominant' instruction, unlike comparable cross-code instructions elsewhere in 38 CFR Part 4. If the bar does reach DC 5201, which evaluation controls is not stated in the regulation's text, and RatingScope does not guess at an answer the regulation itself does not give.
  • The Note is printed directly after DC 8519's own rows and before DC 8619 (neuritis) and DC 8719 (neuralgia) of the same nerve, a position that leaves both readings textually plausible: that the Note governs only DC 8519, or that it extends to 8619/8719 as well. RatingScope applies the narrower reading, that the Note governs DC 8519 specifically, since that is the code it is directly attached to, and does not assume the bar also reaches a DC 8619 or DC 8719 rating of the same nerve. The regulation does not confirm or rule out the broader reading.
  • RatingScope discloses this as a cross-reference to check separately -- it does not auto-compute a combined or adjusted result using the Shoulder/Arm hub's own facts.

Records to review: This site's Shoulder/Arm hub; Examination records documenting shoulder range of motion.

The 'combined nerve injuries' note: DC 8519-specific or general?

A separate Note, confirmed verbatim via two independent primary sources, reads: 'Combined nerve injuries should be rated by reference to the major involvement, or if sufficient in extent, consider radicular group ratings.' Its scope, DC 8519-specific or general to the whole peripheral nerve schedule, is not stated by the regulation.

  • This Note is printed only once in the entire regulation's neurological schedule, directly after DC 8619 (neuritis) and DC 8719 (neuralgia) of the long thoracic nerve, and before the next nerve's table (sciatic) begins -- it is not repeated as a header or footer for any of the other 9 nerve tables in this hub.
  • That single, nerve-specific printed position is the strongest textual evidence for reading this Note as tied to the long thoracic nerve group (DC 8519/8619/8719) rather than as a general instruction for the whole schedule. RatingScope applies this narrower reading.
  • A pending VA rulemaking, RIN 2900-AQ73, proposes to 'number the notes that will appear under DC 8519,' plural -- language that suggests VA itself may read both this Note and the shoulder-motion Note above as belonging to DC 8519. This is disclosed as evidence from a proposed, not-yet-finalized rule, not as settled regulatory text, and it does not resolve the question on its own. The proposed rule's replacement table could not be retrieved through any available channel, so whether it retains, revises, or deletes either Note is unconfirmed.
  • RatingScope discloses this scope question; it does not apply this Note's routing language to any other nerve's rating.

Records to review: Neurological examination records documenting whether multiple nerves are involved.

Wholly sensory nerve involvement caps the rating at moderate

38 CFR 4.124a's general principles state that when nerve involvement is wholly sensory, the rating should be for the mild, or at most, the moderate degree -- confirmed verbatim via two independent primary sources.

  • This cap applies across this hub's 10 nerve tables whenever the documented findings show sensory involvement only, with no motor component -- severe incomplete and complete paralysis tiers are not reachable under a wholly sensory picture.
  • This is a general-principle instruction in the regulation's own text governing the whole peripheral nerve schedule (DC 8510-8519 and, by extension via the shared-table architecture, DC 8610-8619 and DC 8710-8719), not something unique to a single nerve.
  • RatingScope discloses this cap; it does not itself determine whether a specific documented finding is 'wholly sensory' -- that determination depends on the medical record.

Records to review: Neurological examination records documenting whether motor findings, sensory findings, or both are present.

How bilateral upper-extremity nerve involvement is handled

38 CFR 4.124a's general principles state: 'The ratings for the peripheral nerves are for unilateral involvement; when bilateral, combine with application of the bilateral factor' -- confirmed verbatim via two independent primary sources.

  • This means each arm's tier is rated independently under this hub's 10 shared nerve tables, then the two ratings combine under 38 CFR 4.25 (the standard combined-ratings table) WITH the 38 CFR 4.26 bilateral factor added.
  • This differs from the cranial nerve schedule's own rule, which combines bilateral findings WITHOUT the bilateral factor -- the two are governed by separate general-principle sentences in the regulation, not the same rule applied twice.
  • This hub discloses this combination rule for documented bilateral upper-extremity involvement (e.g. left arm and right arm both affected); it does not perform the 38 CFR 4.25/4.26 combination itself, matching the same disclosure-only pattern already used for Cranial Nerves and Amputations' bilateral cases.

Records to review: Neurological examination records documenting findings for both arms, if bilateral.

Evidence

Evidence that may clarify the published criteria

Neurological examination records documenting the specific nerve and severity

Establishes which of the 10 nerve tables applies and the underlying severity finding (mild through complete) common to all 3 categories.

None -- required for every code in this hub.

Documentation of reflexes, muscle atrophy, and other objective findings

The evidence most relevant to the undefined 'organic changes' question for neuritis's severity cap.

Only relevant to neuritis (DC 8610-8619) with a severe or complete-appearing underlying picture.

Peripheral Nerves Disability Benefits Questionnaire

VA's standardized exam form for peripheral nerve conditions -- covers 9 of DC 8513's siblings but not DC 8513 itself.

A DBQ is one common evidence source, not the only way to document these findings.

Official VA Forms & DBQs

Downloadable DBQs & Supporting Claim Forms

Take the public DBQ to your private physician or review it prior to your C&P examination.

Terminology

Plain-English terms

Major extremity

Whichever hand a person naturally uses more (usually the hand they write with).

Every one of this schedule's 30 codes rates Major and Minor extremities on distinct percentage columns -- a genuinely load-bearing fact, not a formality.

Examination records confirming hand dominance; dominant-nondominant; shared-table-architecture

Minor extremity

Whichever hand a person naturally uses less (usually the hand they don't write with).

Major/minor distinctions must be preserved and should not be guessed -- every one of this schedule's 30 codes rates the two sides on distinct percentage columns.

Examination records confirming hand dominance; dominant-nondominant; shared-table-architecture

Median nerve (DC 8515)

Carpal tunnel syndrome is the common clinical name for median nerve compression at the wrist. A documented median nerve finding, including one described as carpal tunnel syndrome, is rated under this DC 8515 family, not a separate code.

Carpal tunnel syndrome is one of the most frequently claimed VA conditions. Confirming the record documents median nerve involvement, rather than a different nerve, determines which of this schedule's 10 nerve tables applies.

Nerve conduction study or EMG documenting median nerve involvement; shared-table-architecture

Ulnar nerve (DC 8516)

Cubital tunnel syndrome is the common clinical name for ulnar nerve compression at the elbow. A documented ulnar nerve finding, including one described as cubital tunnel syndrome, is rated under this DC 8516 family, not a separate code.

Confirming the record documents ulnar nerve involvement, rather than a different nerve, determines which of this schedule's 10 nerve tables applies.

Nerve conduction study or EMG documenting ulnar nerve involvement; shared-table-architecture

Organic changes

Physical, objectively measurable evidence of nerve damage (as opposed to just reported pain), though the regulation never says exactly what counts.

The single fact that determines neuritis's severity ceiling when the underlying picture is severe or complete-appearing.

Neurological examination records documenting reflexes, atrophy, and other objective findings; organic-changes-undefined

Wholly sensory involvement

If the documented nerve finding shows sensory symptoms (numbness, tingling, pain) but no motor weakness or loss of function, VA's own general instruction caps the rating at moderate incomplete paralysis, even if the sensory symptoms are severe.

A general-principle limitation applying across this schedule's 10 nerve tables -- confirmed verbatim via two independent primary sources.

Neurological examination records documenting whether motor findings, sensory findings, or both are present; wholly-sensory-cap

Bilateral factor

An extra adjustment VA applies when the same type of nerve condition affects both arms.

38 CFR 4.124a's general principles direct this for bilateral peripheral nerve involvement -- disclosed here, not auto-computed.

Neurological examination records documenting findings for both arms, if bilateral; bilateral-factor-disclosure

TDIU

Even if the schedular rating for Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity does not reach 100 percent, TDIU may still provide a pathway to compensation at the 100 percent rate, based on unemployability from this and/or other service-connected disabilities combined.

A lower schedular percentage does not by itself foreclose TDIU eligibility -- this hub computes only the schedular percentage for this specific condition and does not determine TDIU eligibility.

Employment history; vocational impact documentation; occupational impairment

Common Questions

Questions veterans commonly ask

Is carpal tunnel syndrome or cubital tunnel syndrome covered here?

Yes. Carpal tunnel syndrome is rated under this schedule's median nerve tables (DC 8515 paralysis, DC 8615 neuritis, DC 8715 neuralgia), and cubital tunnel syndrome is rated under the ulnar nerve tables (DC 8516, 8616, 8716). Both are 2 of the 10 nerves this hub covers, using the same severity structure described throughout this guide.

How does VA rate nerve paralysis, neuritis, and neuralgia differently?

All 3 categories reuse the SAME 10 per-nerve tables. Paralysis (DC 8510-8519) uses the full table. Neuritis (DC 8610-8619) caps at severe incomplete (with documented organic changes) or moderate incomplete (without). Neuralgia (DC 8710-8719) always caps at moderate incomplete. Neither neuritis nor neuralgia can ever reach complete paralysis's percentage.

What does 'organic changes' mean for neuritis?

The regulation never defines this term. RatingScope discloses this as a genuinely open interpretive question rather than guessing a definition.

Why isn't DC 8513 on the VA exam form?

It's a real, confirmed gap in VA's current Peripheral Nerves DBQ -- the form's relevant section covers 9 sibling codes but skips DC 8513 entirely. The regulation still governs regardless, so this hub represents DC 8513 fully rather than omitting it.

Does the Radiculopathy hub cover all leg nerves?

No -- it covers only 2 of the 11 lower-extremity peripheral-nerve codes (sciatic and femoral). This is disclosed clearly here so that hub is never assumed comprehensive if cross-referenced.

What about my shoulder motion and DC 8519?

DC 8519 (long thoracic nerve)'s own Note states, verbatim: 'Not to be combined with lost motion above shoulder level.' The regulation does not name which diagnostic code that refers to. RatingScope reads this as most likely reaching DC 5201, on this site's Shoulder/Arm hub, because DC 8519's own complete-paralysis criterion also describes motion above shoulder level -- but that is RatingScope's own interpretation, not regulatory text, and the Note does not say which evaluation would control if both applied. The Note is printed directly after DC 8519's own rows and before the DC 8619 (neuritis) and DC 8719 (neuralgia) lines for the same nerve; RatingScope treats it as governing DC 8519 specifically, not automatically DC 8619 or DC 8719, since the regulation does not state whether the bar extends to those codes. Review both separately -- RatingScope does not auto-compute a combined result across the two hubs.

Does the 'combined nerve injuries' note apply to my nerve, or just the long thoracic nerve?

A separate Note reads: 'Combined nerve injuries should be rated by reference to the major involvement, or if sufficient in extent, consider radicular group ratings.' It is printed only once, after the long thoracic nerve's DC 8519/8619/8719 lines, and is not repeated for any of this hub's other 9 nerves. RatingScope reads this as tied to the long thoracic nerve specifically, not as a general rule for the whole schedule. A pending rulemaking's own proposed relabeling suggests VA may read it as DC 8519's, but that is evidence from a not-yet-finalized proposal, not settled text.

Does a wholly sensory nerve finding cap my rating?

Yes. 38 CFR 4.124a's general principles state that when the involvement is wholly sensory, the rating should be for the mild, or at most, the moderate degree. This applies across all 10 nerve tables in this hub -- severe and complete paralysis are not reachable when the documented findings are wholly sensory.

What if my nerve condition affects both arms?

38 CFR 4.124a's general principles state that peripheral nerve ratings are for unilateral involvement; when bilateral, the two sides combine under 38 CFR 4.25 WITH the 38 CFR 4.26 bilateral factor applied. This differs from the cranial nerve schedule, which combines without the bilateral factor. RatingScope discloses this rule but does not perform the combination itself.

If my schedular rating for Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity is below 100%, can I still be compensated at the 100% rate?

Possibly, through TDIU (Total Disability rating based on Individual Unemployability, 38 CFR 4.16) -- a separate pathway to 100 percent compensation based on unemployability, from this and/or other service-connected disabilities combined, independent of whether the schedular rating itself reaches 100 percent. This hub computes only the schedular percentage and does not determine TDIU eligibility.

What separates the 90% (DC 8513, all radicular groups, complete paralysis, Major) rating from adjacent levels?

DC 8510/8511/8512 (single radicular groups) top out at 70/60 percent -- DC 8513's involvement of ALL radicular groups is what reaches this schedule's true ceiling.

What separates the 50% (DC 8614, radial nerve neuritis, severe, Major, with organic changes) rating from adjacent levels?

The identical underlying clinical picture, without documented organic changes, is capped DOWN to DC 8514's moderate-incomplete value (30 percent major) instead -- see the dedicated disclosure on this undefined term.

What separates the 30% (DC 8714, radial nerve neuralgia, moderate cap, Major) rating from adjacent levels?

Unlike neuritis, neuralgia's cap has NO organic-changes exception -- it never reaches the severe-incomplete tier under any documented circumstance (the tic douloureux/trigeminal-neuralgia exception to this cap is cranial-nerve-specific and does not apply anywhere in this upper-extremity hub).

What separates the 0% (DC 8517/8518/8519, mild tier) rating from adjacent levels?

This 0 percent is unusual among the 10 nerves -- most other nerves' mild tiers carry a real compensable percentage (e.g. DC 8510's mild tier is 20 percent for both sides).

Ready when you are

Compare documented peripheral nerve condition findings

Use the nerve, category, severity, and extremity-dominance language already documented in your records. Do not upload records or enter Social Security numbers, claim numbers, full dates of birth, or other sensitive identifiers. RatingScope does not infer missing findings.

Informational guidance only. RatingScope does not predict, decide, or guarantee VA outcomes.

Compare my peripheral nerve condition records

Learn More

Continue Understanding

Secondary conditions

Conditions commonly connected to Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity

This reflects regulatory and clinical relationships already explained elsewhere on this site. It is not a diagnosis, not a prediction that you have or will develop a connected condition, and not personalized medical or legal advice.

Educational relationship

Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity Neck / Cervical Spine

Cervical Spine's own guidance names radiculopathy as a condition sometimes documented alongside neck findings, with an explicit disclaimer that the relationship is not automatic.

View Neck / Cervical Spine

Educational relationship

Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity Shoulder / Arm

Arm numbness, tingling, weakness, or reflex changes may involve a nerve pathway rather than a shoulder-joint pathway.

View Shoulder / Arm

Educational relationship

Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity Wrist

Radiating pain, numbness, weakness, or reflex changes may require nerve-route context instead of wrist-joint criteria.

View Wrist

Educational Guides & Evidence Resources

In-depth analysis of DBQ forms, medical evidence thresholds, and rating schedules for Peripheral Nerves, Upper Extremity.

Upper Extremity Peripheral Nerves: How VA Rates Arm & Hand Nerves

Learn how the VA rates upper extremity peripheral nerves under 38 CFR 4.124a, including median, ulnar, and radial nerves, and the major vs minor arm rule.

Peripheral Nerves C&P Exam & DBQ: What VA Examiners Look For

Understand how VA examiners evaluate radiculopathy, peripheral neuropathy, and nerve injuries using the Peripheral Nerves Conditions Disability Benefits Questionnaire.

How VA Rates Carpal Tunnel Syndrome: DC 8515 Median Nerve and Dominance Criteria

Understand how the VA evaluates carpal tunnel syndrome under 38 CFR 4.124a (DC 8515) based on median nerve paralysis, dexterity loss, and hand dominance.

Paralysis, Neuritis, & Neuralgia: How VA Selects Nerve Diagnostic Codes

Understand how the VA distinguishes between paralysis (85xx), neuritis (86xx), and neuralgia (87xx) in 38 CFR 4.124a and how rating ceilings apply.

Radiculopathy vs. Peripheral Neuropathy: VA Rating Differences and Nerve Codes

Compare how the VA evaluates spinal radiculopathy versus peripheral neuropathy, distinct diagnostic codes, and bilateral factor rules.

Diabetic Neuropathy VA Rating: Secondary Service Connection Guide

Learn how the VA evaluates diabetic peripheral neuropathy secondary to diabetes mellitus, including glove-and-stocking distribution and the Bilateral Factor.

How VA Rates Peripheral Neuropathy: Upper and Lower Extremity Nerve Damage Guide

Learn how the VA rates peripheral neuropathy under 38 CFR 4.124a, paralysis vs neuritis vs neuralgia, bilateral factors, and diabetic secondary claims.

How VA Rates Neck Pain: Cervical Spine Range of Motion Guide

Learn how the VA evaluates neck pain and cervical spine conditions under 38 CFR 4.71a using forward flexion, ankylosis, and nerve involvement.

Keep going

Compare a percentage level and combined-rating math, or review evidence context.

See all tools

VA Math & Combined Ratings

Understand the whole-person method, final rounding, and bilateral limits, then calculate how percentages combine.

Open VA Math guide

Evidence Center

Understand common evidence categories and what they can clarify without treating them as a checklist.

Open Evidence Center