Reference: 38 CFR 4.118

Sources & Related Guides

What is the VA rating for Skin Conditions?

VA disability ratings for skin conditions range from 0% to 60% under 38 CFR 4.118 (Diagnostic Codes 7806 to 7833). Most chronic skin disorders, including dermatitis and eczema, are evaluated under the General Rating Formula for the Skin based on the percentage of body surface area affected and the frequency of required systemic or topical immunosuppressive therapies.

Condition Overview & Clinical Scope

MOST IMPORTANT TO KNOW FIRST: this hub covers 25 live diagnostic codes (DC 7806-7833, excluding DC 7810/7812/7814, confirmed removed) across four genuinely different structures -- 9 codes sharing one 'General Rating Formula for the Skin' (60/30/10/0 percent, body-surface-area and systemic-therapy based), 10 codes with their own independent table, 2 codes (DC 7818, malignant skin neoplasms other than melanoma, and DC 7833, malignant melanoma) whose baseline rating dispatches elsewhere but whose own Note states an explicit 100 percent evaluation for the active-treatment phase of the malignancy, and 4 codes (7807, 7808, 7811, 7819) with NO percentage of their own at all that dispatch entirely elsewhere. Confirmed via two independent sources during this build's re-verification. Five of those six dispatch-relevant codes (7807, 7808, 7818, 7819, 7833) name DC 7805 as a scar-rating option for their baseline rating -- DC 7805 is now built in this repo's live Scars hub (per RSCH-054/COND-046) as its own disclosure-only redirect, since DC 7805 itself also has no independent percentage table, so those dispatches resolve to an honest disclosure rather than a guessed number. This hub also carries nine genuine schedule ambiguities (NEEDS_HUMAN_DECISION items from RSCH-034), each disclosed rather than guessed.

EXPLORE THIS CONDITION

Explore Skin Conditions Criteria & Tools

Save this condition to find it again later. Saved only on this device and browser. Never sent to RatingScope. Lost if you clear browser data or switch devices or browsers.

Overview

About this condition

MOST IMPORTANT TO KNOW FIRST: this hub covers 25 live diagnostic codes (DC 7806-7833, excluding DC 7810/7812/7814, confirmed removed) across four genuinely different structures -- 9 codes sharing one 'General Rating Formula for the Skin' (60/30/10/0 percent, body-surface-area and systemic-therapy based), 10 codes with their own independent table, 2 codes (DC 7818, malignant skin neoplasms other than melanoma, and DC 7833, malignant melanoma) whose baseline rating dispatches elsewhere but whose own Note states an explicit 100 percent evaluation for the active-treatment phase of the malignancy, and 4 codes (7807, 7808, 7811, 7819) with NO percentage of their own at all that dispatch entirely elsewhere. Confirmed via two independent sources during this build's re-verification. Five of those six dispatch-relevant codes (7807, 7808, 7818, 7819, 7833) name DC 7805 as a scar-rating option for their baseline rating -- DC 7805 is now built in this repo's live Scars hub (per RSCH-054/COND-046) as its own disclosure-only redirect, since DC 7805 itself also has no independent percentage table, so those dispatches resolve to an honest disclosure rather than a guessed number. This hub also carries nine genuine schedule ambiguities (NEEDS_HUMAN_DECISION items from RSCH-034), each disclosed rather than guessed.

Regulatory authority: 38 CFR 4.118, Diagnostic Codes 7806-7833

IMPORTANT DISCLOSURE, READ FIRST: this hub explains the published DC 7806-7833 schedule and common record language. It does not diagnose a condition, determine service connection, infer undocumented findings, estimate an outcome, or replace medical care or accredited representation. ADDITIONAL DISCLOSURES: (1) Four diagnostic codes (7807, 7808, 7811, 7819) have no percentage of their own at all -- each is disclosed as a dispatch to another location, never computed or guessed. Two more (7818, 7833) also dispatch for their baseline rating, but each carries its own explicit 100 percent Note for the active-treatment phase of the malignancy (systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery) -- confirmed via two independent sources, this 100 percent is computed as a real tier, not folded into the no-percentage group. (2) 38 CFR 4.118(b) states plainly that two or more skin conditions may be combined under 4.25 only if separate areas of skin are involved -- if two or more skin conditions involve the same area of skin, only the highest evaluation applies; they are never stacked. (3) Five of the six dispatch-relevant codes name DC 7805 as a scar-rating destination; DC 7805 is now built in the live Scars registry (RSCH-054/COND-046) as its own disclosure-only redirect, since it too has no independent percentage table -- disclosed explicitly, not a bare 'see Scars' pointer. (4) DC 7811's active-phase 100 percent is an inference by analogy to DC 6311, not stated directly in DC 7811's own text -- disclosed as an inference, never asserted as literal regulatory text. (5) DC 7832 (Hyperhidrosis) deliberately has only a 30/0 percent table -- confirmed via two independent sources that no 10/20 percent tier exists; this is not a gap in this hub's build. (6) Nine schedule ambiguities from RSCH-034 remain genuinely unresolved by the regulation's own text and are disclosed, not guessed. (7) DC 7810, 7812, and 7814 were removed from the schedule and carry no facts or ratings here.

Percentage Guides

Understanding Your Percentage

Select a pathway to see what the published criteria ask about, what records may clarify it, and what should not be assumed.

60% (General Rating Formula for the Skin, ceiling)

Highest listed pathway

Characteristic lesions involving more than 40 percent of the entire body or exposed areas, or constant/near-constant systemic therapy required over the past 12 months.

What separates the next level: 30 percent applies once involvement or therapy duration falls into the next band down.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Characteristic lesions involving more than 40 percent of the entire body, or more than 40 percent of exposed areas, affected; or constant or near-constant systemic therapy (such as therapeutic doses of corticosteroids, phototherapy, retinoids, biologics, photochemotherapy (PUVA), or other immunosuppressive drugs) required over the past 12-month period.
Qualification explanation
Reached by any one of 9 diagnoses (dermatitis/eczema, discoid lupus erythematosus, dermatophytosis, bullous disorders, psoriasis, and others) that share this identical formula.
Examples
Records document psoriasis affecting 45 percent of the body surface, with continuous biologic therapy.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting body/exposed-area percentage and systemic therapy
Functional impact examples
Most severe documented involvement reachable under the shared formula.
Common misconceptions
This same formula and tier text applies identically to 9 different diagnostic codes -- confirmed via two independent sources, cross-checked during this build's own verbatim re-verification, not assumed from RSCH-034 alone.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7806; Current DC 7806-7824 educational pathway. Last amended August 7, 2018. No pending rulemaking found touching this range as of 2026-07-25 (RSCH-034).

0% (General Rating Formula for the Skin, floor)

Next: 10%

No more than topical therapy required over the past 12 months, with lesions under 5 percent of the entire body or exposed areas.

What separates the next level: 10 percent applies once involvement reaches 5 percent, or intermittent systemic therapy is required.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
No more than topical therapy required over the past 12-month period, and at least one of the following: characteristic lesions involving less than 5 percent of the entire body affected; or characteristic lesions involving less than 5 percent of exposed areas affected.
Qualification explanation
The shared formula's real, explicit 0 percent floor.
Examples
Records document mild dermatophytosis affecting 2 percent of the body, treated with topical antifungal cream only.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Treatment records documenting therapy type
Functional impact examples
Minimal documented involvement, topical treatment only.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7813; Current DC 7806-7824 educational pathway.

100% (DC 7817, Erythroderma, ceiling)

Highest listed pathway

Generalized skin involvement with systemic manifestations (fever, weight loss, or hypoproteinemia), and constant systemic therapy or a documented history of treatment failure with 2 or more regimens.

What separates the next level: 60 percent applies without systemic manifestations.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Generalized involvement of the skin with systemic manifestations (such as fever, weight loss, or hypoproteinemia) AND one of the following: constant or near-constant systemic therapy required over the past 12 month period; or no current treatment due to a documented history of treatment failure with 2 or more treatment regimens.
Qualification explanation
DC 7817's ceiling tier -- the only independent table in this hub with both a real 100 percent ceiling and a real 0 percent floor.
Examples
Records document generalized erythroderma with documented fever and weight loss, on constant systemic immunosuppressive therapy.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting systemic manifestations and treatment history
Functional impact examples
Most severe documented erythroderma presentation.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7817; Current DC 7817 educational pathway.

10% (DC 7823, Vitiligo, ceiling)

Highest listed pathway

Vitiligo with exposed areas affected.

What separates the next level: 0 percent applies when no exposed areas are affected.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
With exposed areas affected -- 10.
Qualification explanation
DC 7823's simple 2-tier table.
Examples
Records document vitiligo patches on the hands and face.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ
Functional impact examples
Documented vitiligo affecting visible/exposed skin.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7823; Current DC 7823 educational pathway.

60% (DC 7825, Chronic urticaria, ceiling -- no real 0 percent tier)

Highest listed pathway

Chronic urticaria requiring third-line treatment (e.g., plasmapheresis, immunotherapy, immunosuppressives).

What separates the next level: 30 percent applies for second-line treatment instead.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Chronic refractory urticaria that requires third line treatment for control (e.g., plasmapheresis, immunotherapy, immunosuppressives) due to ineffectiveness with first and second line treatments -- 60.
Qualification explanation
DC 7825's ceiling tier.
Examples
Records document chronic urticaria unresponsive to antihistamines and corticosteroids, now on immunotherapy.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Treatment records documenting which treatment line is required
Functional impact examples
Most treatment-resistant documented chronic urticaria.
Common misconceptions
Confirmed via two independent sources: DC 7825 has no explicit 0 percent row -- 10 percent (first-line treatment) is the floor, not 0 percent.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7825; Current DC 7825 educational pathway.

60% (DC 7826, Vasculitis, ceiling -- no real 0 percent tier)

Highest listed pathway

Persistent vasculitis episodes refractory to continuous immunosuppressive therapy.

What separates the next level: 30 percent applies for 4+ recurrent episodes with intermittent therapy instead of persistent refractory disease.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Persistent documented vasculitis episodes refractory to continuous immunosuppressive therapy -- 60.
Qualification explanation
DC 7826's ceiling tier.
Examples
Records document ongoing vasculitis flares despite continuous immunosuppressive medication.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting episode frequency and therapy
Functional impact examples
Most treatment-resistant documented cutaneous vasculitis.
Common misconceptions
Confirmed via two independent sources: DC 7826 has no explicit 0 percent row -- 10 percent is the floor.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7826; Current DC 7826 educational pathway.

60% (DC 7827, Erythema multiforme/TEN, ceiling -- no real 0 percent tier)

Highest listed pathway

Recurrent mucosal, palmar, or plantar involvement impairing mastication, hand use, or ambulation, 4+ times over 12 months despite ongoing immunosuppressive therapy.

What separates the next level: 30 percent applies when the same frequency of involvement does not impair mastication, hand use, or ambulation.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Recurrent mucosal, palmar, or plantar involvement impairing mastication, use of hands, or ambulation occurring four or more times over the past 12-month period despite ongoing immunosuppressive therapy -- 60.
Qualification explanation
DC 7827's ceiling tier.
Examples
Records document 5 documented episodes of oral mucosal involvement impairing eating, despite ongoing immunosuppressive therapy.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting episode frequency and functional impact
Functional impact examples
Most severe documented erythema multiforme/TEN presentation.
Common misconceptions
Confirmed via two independent sources: DC 7827 has no explicit 0 percent row -- 10 percent is the floor. For this DC only, systemic therapy may include antihistamines or sympathomimetics, not only immunosuppressives.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7827; Current DC 7827 educational pathway.

30% (DC 7828, Acne, ceiling)

Highest listed pathway

Deep acne (nodules/cysts) affecting 40 percent or more of the face and neck.

What separates the next level: 10 percent applies for less extensive or non-facial deep acne.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Deep acne (deep inflamed nodules and pus-filled cysts) affecting 40 percent or more of the face and neck -- 30.
Qualification explanation
DC 7828's ceiling tier.
Examples
Records document deep inflamed nodules and cysts across most of the face and neck.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting acne depth and location
Functional impact examples
Most extensive documented deep acne.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7828; Current DC 7828 educational pathway.

20% (DC 7829, Chloracne, intertriginous-area tier)

Next: 30%

Deep chloracne affecting intertriginous areas (axilla, anogenital region, breast skin folds, or between digits).

What separates the next level: 30 percent applies for 40 percent or more of the face and neck instead; 10 percent applies for less extensive or non-intertriginous deep acne.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Deep acne (deep inflamed nodules and pus-filled cysts) affecting the intertriginous areas (the axilla of the arm, the anogenital region, skin folds of the breasts, or between digits) -- 20.
Qualification explanation
DC 7829's own distinctive tier -- the one respect its ladder genuinely differs in shape from Acne's (DC 7828), which has no equivalent 20 percent row.
Examples
Records document deep chloracne lesions in the axilla and groin folds.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting chloracne depth and location
Functional impact examples
Documented intertriginous-area chloracne.
Common misconceptions
Do not assume Chloracne (DC 7829) is identical to Acne (DC 7828) -- confirmed via two independent sources that DC 7829 has a genuinely different 4-tier structure with this unique 20 percent carve-out.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7829; Current DC 7829 educational pathway.

20% (DC 7830, Scarring alopecia, ceiling)

Highest listed pathway

Scarring alopecia affecting more than 40 percent of the scalp.

What separates the next level: 10 percent applies for 20-40 percent of the scalp.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Affecting more than 40 percent of the scalp -- 20.
Qualification explanation
DC 7830's ceiling tier.
Examples
Records document scarring alopecia across most of the scalp.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting percentage of scalp affected
Functional impact examples
Most extensive documented scarring alopecia.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7830; Current DC 7830 educational pathway.

10% (DC 7831, Alopecia areata, ceiling)

Highest listed pathway

Alopecia areata with loss of all body hair.

What separates the next level: 0 percent applies when hair loss is limited to the scalp and face.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
With loss of all body hair -- 10.
Qualification explanation
DC 7831's simple 2-tier table.
Examples
Records document total body hair loss, not limited to the scalp.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ
Functional impact examples
Most extensive documented alopecia areata.
Related topics
rating-criteria
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7831; Current DC 7831 educational pathway.

30% (DC 7832, Hyperhidrosis, the only tier above 0 percent)

Highest listed pathway

Unable to handle paper or tools because of moisture, and unresponsive to therapy.

What separates the next level: 0 percent applies once the veteran is able to handle paper or tools after therapy -- there is no intermediate 10 or 20 percent tier.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
Unable to handle paper or tools because of moisture, and unresponsive to therapy -- 30.
Qualification explanation
DC 7832's table is deliberately just two rows: 30 percent and 0 percent.
Examples
Records document severe palmar hyperhidrosis unresponsive to iontophoresis or anticholinergic treatment.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Records documenting functional impact and treatment response
Functional impact examples
Documented inability to handle paper or tools due to excessive sweating, unresponsive to treatment.
Common misconceptions
Confirmed via two independent sources: DC 7832 has NO 10 or 20 percent tier -- do not assume a missing middle tier is an oversight in this hub's build.
Related topics
hyperhidrosis-two-tier
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7832; Current DC 7832 educational pathway.

100% (DC 7818, Malignant skin neoplasms other than melanoma, active-treatment phase)

Highest listed pathway

A 100 percent rating applies from the date treatment begins for a malignant skin neoplasm requiring systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery, continuing until a mandatory VA exam 6 months after treatment ends.

What separates the next level: If treatment is confined to the skin (not systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery), this 100 percent Note does not apply -- the baseline rating instead dispatches to disfigurement (DC 7800), scars (DC 7801/7802/7803/7804/7805), or impairment of function.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
If a skin malignancy requires therapy that is comparable to that used for systemic malignancies, i.e., systemic chemotherapy, X-ray therapy more extensive than to the skin, or surgery more extensive than wide local excision, a 100-percent evaluation will be assigned from the date of onset of treatment, and will continue, with a mandatory VA examination six months following the completion of such antineoplastic treatment... If treatment is confined to the skin, the provisions for a 100-percent evaluation do not apply.
Qualification explanation
Stated directly in DC 7818's own Note -- unlike DC 7811's inferred 100 percent, this is literal regulatory text, confirmed via two independent sources during this build's re-verification, not an inference.
Examples
Records document a malignant skin neoplasm treated with systemic chemotherapy, with a 100 percent evaluation assigned from the date treatment began.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Oncology/treatment records documenting the type and extent of therapy (systemic vs. skin-confined)
Functional impact examples
Active systemic-treatment phase for a malignant skin neoplasm.
Common misconceptions
This code is often assumed to have no percentage of its own because its baseline (non-active-treatment) rating dispatches to disfigurement/scars/impairment-of-function -- but the active-treatment-phase 100 percent Note is DC 7818's own literal text, not a dispatch and not an inference. Confirmed via two independent sources.
Related topics
dispatch-only-codes
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7818; Current DC 7818 educational pathway.

100% (DC 7833, Malignant melanoma, active-treatment phase)

Highest listed pathway

A 100 percent rating applies from the date treatment begins for malignant melanoma requiring systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery, continuing until a mandatory VA exam 6 months after treatment ends.

What separates the next level: If treatment is confined to the skin (not systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery), this 100 percent Note does not apply -- the baseline rating instead dispatches to scars (DC 7801/7802/7803/7804/7805), disfigurement (DC 7800), or impairment of function.

Review CFR criteria, examples, and evidence
Official CFR language
If a skin malignancy requires therapy that is comparable to that used for systemic malignancies, i.e., systemic chemotherapy, X-ray therapy more extensive than to the skin, or surgery more extensive than wide local excision, a 100-percent evaluation will be assigned from the date of onset of treatment, and will continue, with a mandatory VA examination six months following the completion of such antineoplastic treatment... If treatment is confined to the skin, the provisions for a 100-percent evaluation do not apply.
Qualification explanation
Stated directly in DC 7833's own Note -- unlike DC 7811's inferred 100 percent, this is literal regulatory text, confirmed via two independent sources during this build's re-verification, not an inference.
Examples
Records document malignant melanoma treated with extensive surgery beyond wide local excision, with a 100 percent evaluation assigned from the date treatment began.
Medical evidence
Skin Diseases DBQ; Oncology/treatment records documenting the type and extent of therapy (systemic vs. skin-confined)
Functional impact examples
Active systemic-treatment phase for malignant melanoma.
Common misconceptions
This code is often assumed to have no percentage of its own because its baseline (non-active-treatment) rating dispatches to scars/disfigurement/impairment-of-function -- but the active-treatment-phase 100 percent Note is DC 7833's own literal text, not a dispatch and not an inference. Confirmed via two independent sources.
Related topics
dispatch-only-codes
Source context
38 CFR 4.118; 7833; Current DC 7833 educational pathway.

Learn

Understand the details behind the criteria

Use these short guides to connect published terms with the records and observations that may clarify them.

Four diagnostic codes have no percentage table at all; two more only dispatch for their baseline rating (read this first)

DC 7807, 7808, 7811, and 7819 have NO percentage of their own -- each dispatches entirely to another location (scars, disfigurement, or impairment of function) depending on the predominant disability. DC 7818 and DC 7833 also dispatch for their baseline rating, but each carries its own explicit 100 percent Note for the active-treatment phase of the malignancy -- confirmed via two independent sources, this is computed as a real tier above, not folded into the no-percentage group.

  • Confirmed via two independent sources (Cornell LII, eCFR API renderer): DC 7807, 7808, 7811, and 7819's own text never states a percentage of their own -- each is a true dispatch.
  • DC 7818 (malignant skin neoplasms other than melanoma) and DC 7833 (malignant melanoma) also dispatch to disfigurement, scars, or impairment of function for their baseline (non-active-treatment) rating -- but each has its own Note stating a literal 100 percent evaluation for the active-treatment phase (systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery), continuing until a mandatory VA exam 6 months after treatment ends. This is computed as a real tier in this hub, not treated as a no-percentage dispatch.
  • RatingScope discloses the four true no-percentage codes (7807, 7808, 7811, 7819) as needs-detail redirects rather than guessing a percentage or silently picking one destination.
  • This disclosure-only-dispatch pattern for the four true no-percentage codes is the same one already used in this repository for Larynx's DC 6515 and Nasal-Structural's DC 6504 -- an established precedent, not a new invention.

Records to review: Records documenting which of the 25 diagnostic codes applies, and if a dispatch code, which destination condition's own findings are documented.

Two skin conditions in the same area of skin: only the highest rating applies, never both

38 CFR 4.118(b) states plainly: two or more skin conditions may be combined under 4.25 only if separate areas of skin are involved. If two or more skin conditions involve the same area of skin, only the highest evaluation applies -- confirmed via two independent sources during this build's re-verification.

  • This is a clear rule stated directly in the regulation's own text, not an inference -- the genuine judgment call is the factual determination of whether two documented skin conditions occupy 'the same area' or 'separate areas,' not whether the rule itself applies.
  • Example: a veteran with both documented dermatitis and psoriasis on the same area of skin, each independently ratable under the shared General Rating Formula, does not receive both percentages combined -- only the higher of the two applies.
  • If the two conditions affect genuinely separate areas of skin, each may be rated independently and combined under the standard Combined Ratings Table (38 CFR 4.25).

Records to review: Records documenting the specific skin area(s) affected by each diagnosed condition.

Five dispatch codes name DC 7805 -- and DC 7805 is now also its own disclosure-only redirect (read this first)

DC 7807, 7808, 7818, 7819, and 7833 all name DC 7805 ('scars, other') as one possible rating destination. Per RSCH-054/COND-046, the Scars hub now models DC 7805 explicitly -- confirmed via two independent sources, DC 7805 itself has no independent percentage table either, so this closes the loop honestly rather than leaving it as an unbuilt unknown.

  • Originally found during COND-045's own investigation: the live Scars registry covered only DC 7800/7801/7802/7804, with DC 7805 entirely absent.
  • RSCH-054/COND-046 closed that gap -- but the resolution is a disclosure, not a computed number. DC 7805's own text ('evaluate any disabling effect(s) not considered in a rating provided under diagnostic codes 7800-04 under an appropriate diagnostic code') names no specific destination, so it resolves to its own explicit redirect in the Scars hub rather than a guessed percentage.
  • This means these five dispatch codes can now correctly disclose that DC 7805 is real and modeled, but still not a source of any computed percentage -- the DC 7800/7801/7802/7804 destinations are real, built, and computed; the DC 7805 destination is real, built, and disclosure-only.
  • This is disclosed explicitly in each affected code's own missing-evidence message, not glossed over with a bare 'see Scars' pointer.

Records to review: Records documenting scar location, size, and stability, if the predominant disability is scarring.

DC 7832 (Hyperhidrosis) deliberately has only two tiers

Unlike almost every other table in this hub, DC 7832 has just a 30 percent tier and a 0 percent tier -- no 10 or 20 percent tier exists.

  • Confirmed via two independent sources: this is the regulation's own structure, not a gap in this hub's build.
  • Do not assume an intermediate severity level exists that simply wasn't built -- the schedule itself only distinguishes 'unable to handle paper or tools, unresponsive to therapy' (30 percent) from 'able to handle after therapy' (0 percent).

Records to review: Records documenting functional impact of hyperhidrosis on handling paper or tools, and treatment response.

DC 7811's active-phase 100 percent is an inference, not stated directly

DC 7811 (tuberculosis luposa)'s own text says only 'rate under §§4.88c or 4.89, whichever is appropriate' for both active and inactive disease -- it never states an active-phase percentage directly.

  • Per RSCH-039's resolution: a 100 percent evaluation for the active phase is inferred by analogy to DC 6311 (miliary tuberculosis), which does state 100 percent for its own active phase explicitly.
  • RatingScope discloses this as an inference -- it is never asserted as literal DC 7811 text, and never computed as a real registry tier.
  • The inactive phase dispatches to the Tuberculosis hub's own already-built legacy (pre-Aug. 19, 1968) or modern (post-1968) regime under §4.88c/4.89.

Records to review: Records documenting active vs. inactive tuberculosis luposa status, and the date of any legacy TB entitlement.

Nine schedule ambiguities remain genuinely unresolved (RSCH-034)

Nine aspects of this range require a holistic, clinical, or evidentiary judgment the regulation's own text does not reduce to a lookup -- each is disclosed, none is guessed.

  • (1) Section 4.118(b)'s same-area-vs-separate-area rule itself is stated plainly in the regulation (see 'same-area-noncombination-rule' above) -- the genuine ambiguity is only the clinical/evidentiary judgment of which specific areas of skin two diagnosed conditions actually affect, the same deferral pattern as Scars' own Note (2).
  • (2) DC 7807/7808's predominant-disability dispatch, plus the DC 6301 (visceral leishmaniasis) carve-out, is out of this hub's scope.
  • (3) DC 7818/7819/7833's 'impairment of function' dispatch names no specific diagnostic code at all -- RSCH-034's own words, the vaguest pattern found in the whole range.
  • (4) DC 7826/7827/7828/7829's shared alternative-routing clause is deferred as one pattern.
  • None of these nine items is silently resolved by this build -- each routes to a disclosed needs-detail state instead.

Records to review: Records documenting the specific circumstances of any of these nine ambiguous scenarios, for review with a qualified representative.

This hub covers 25 of 25 live codes in the DC 7806-7833 range

38 CFR 4.118's skin/scars range spans DC 7800-7833. Scars (DC 7800/7801/7802/7804, plus DC 7805 as a disclosure-only redirect per RSCH-054/COND-046) is already its own separate hub; this hub covers the remainder, DC 7806-7833, minus DC 7810/7812/7814 (confirmed removed).

  • 25 of 25 currently-live codes in this specific range are built here -- a genuinely complete build, not a partial slice.
  • DC 7803 (removed 2008) is confirmed never built anywhere, correctly. DC 7805 ('scars, other') was confirmed NOT built in the separate Scars hub during this build's own investigation -- that gap was closed by RSCH-054/COND-046, which added DC 7805 to the Scars hub as its own disclosure-only redirect (see 'dc-7805-gap' above).
  • DC 7810, 7812, and 7814 were removed from the schedule and carry no facts or ratings anywhere in this repository.

Records to review: Records confirming the specific diagnostic code documented for the skin condition.

Evidence

Evidence that may clarify the published criteria

Records documenting which of the 25 diagnostic codes applies

Establishes which shared-formula, independent-table, or dispatch-only diagnosis governs.

Not required beyond the diagnosis itself once one code is confirmed.

Records documenting body/exposed-area percentage and systemic therapy history

The core evidence for the 9 shared-formula diagnoses.

Only relevant to the 9 shared-formula diagnoses.

Records documenting the specific clinical findings for the 10 independent-table diagnoses

Each independent table (Erythroderma, Vitiligo, Chronic Urticaria, Vasculitis, Erythema Multiforme/TEN, Acne, Chloracne, Scarring Alopecia, Alopecia Areata, Hyperhidrosis) has its own distinct required findings.

Only the fields relevant to the specific diagnosed condition are needed.

Skin Diseases DBQ

VA's examination form covering this section's diagnostic codes.

A DBQ is one common evidence source, not the only way to document these findings.

Official VA Forms & DBQs

Downloadable DBQs & Supporting Claim Forms

Take the public DBQ to your private physician or review it prior to your C&P examination.

Terminology

Plain-English terms

Characteristic lesions

The visible skin patches or areas typical of the specific skin condition, measured by how much of the body they cover.

The core measurement distinguishing the shared General Rating Formula's four tiers.

Skin Diseases DBQ; rating-criteria

Systemic therapy

Medication or treatment that works throughout the body, not just cream or ointment applied directly to the skin.

The duration and constancy of systemic therapy is a key criterion across most of this hub's diagnostic codes.

Treatment records documenting therapy type and duration; rating-criteria

Predominant disability

Whichever aspect of the condition is genuinely the most significant problem, used to decide which rating table to use.

The dispatch mechanism for DC 7807, 7808, 7811, and 7819 (which have no percentage of their own), and for DC 7818 and DC 7833's baseline, non-active-treatment rating.

Records identifying the clinically dominant impairment; dispatch-only-codes

Dermatitis / eczema

Dermatitis and eczema are the same rating pathway here: both are rated under DC 7806's shared formula based on body-surface-area extent and treatment type, not as separate conditions.

Records may use either clinical term interchangeably; both route to the same DC 7806 percentage table on this hub.

Dermatology records documenting body-surface-area extent and treatment type; rating-criteria

Discoid lupus erythematosus

This is a different, skin-limited condition from systemic lupus erythematosus (DC 6350), which has its own separate hub and rating table.

DC 6350's current text explicitly states it is not to be combined with DC 7809 ratings -- these are mutually exclusive rating paths for what can be the same underlying disease.

Dermatology records distinguishing discoid (skin-limited) from systemic lupus findings; rating-criteria

TDIU

Even if the schedular rating for Skin Conditions does not reach 100 percent, TDIU may still provide a pathway to compensation at the 100 percent rate, based on unemployability from this and/or other service-connected disabilities combined.

A lower schedular percentage does not by itself foreclose TDIU eligibility -- this hub computes only the schedular percentage for this specific condition and does not determine TDIU eligibility.

Employment history; vocational impact documentation; occupational impairment

Common Questions

Questions veterans commonly ask

Which skin conditions don't have their own percentage table?

Four have no percentage of their own at all: American and Old World leishmaniasis (DC 7807/7808), tuberculosis luposa (DC 7811), and benign skin neoplasms (DC 7819) -- each dispatches entirely to another location. Malignant skin neoplasms (DC 7818) and malignant melanoma (DC 7833) also dispatch for their baseline rating, but each has its own Note stating a literal 100 percent evaluation for the active-treatment phase of the malignancy -- confirmed via two independent sources, this 100 percent is computed as a real tier here, not treated as a no-percentage dispatch.

If two of my skin conditions are both rated under this hub, do their percentages combine?

Only if they affect separate areas of skin. Per 38 CFR 4.118(b), if two or more skin conditions involve the same area of skin, only the highest evaluation applies -- they are never added together for that same area.

If my condition dispatches to 'rate as scars,' will RatingScope compute that for me?

Partially. DC 7800/7801/7802/7804 are built with real computed tiers and can be cross-referenced. DC 7805 ('scars, other') is also now built in this repo's live Scars hub (per RSCH-054/COND-046), but only as its own disclosure-only redirect, since DC 7805's own text names no specific destination and has no independent percentage table -- so a DC 7805 dispatch resolves to an honest disclosure, not a computed number.

Why does Hyperhidrosis (DC 7832) only have a 30% and 0% rating?

That is the regulation's own structure, confirmed via two independent sources -- there is no 10 or 20 percent tier for hyperhidrosis. This is not a gap in RatingScope's build.

Is DC 7811's active-phase 100 percent rating stated directly in the regulation?

No -- it is an inference by analogy to DC 6311 (miliary tuberculosis), disclosed as an inference rather than asserted as DC 7811's own literal text.

Does this hub cover the whole DC 7800-7833 skin/scars range?

This hub covers all 25 currently-live codes in DC 7806-7833 (the Scars hub, DC 7800/7801/7802/7804/7805, is separate and already built -- DC 7805 was added per RSCH-054/COND-046 as its own disclosure-only redirect). DC 7803/7810/7812/7814 were removed from the schedule and carry no facts or ratings here.

If my schedular rating for Skin Conditions is below 100%, can I still be compensated at the 100% rate?

Possibly, through TDIU (Total Disability rating based on Individual Unemployability, 38 CFR 4.16) -- a separate pathway to 100 percent compensation based on unemployability, from this and/or other service-connected disabilities combined, independent of whether the schedular rating itself reaches 100 percent. This hub computes only the schedular percentage and does not determine TDIU eligibility.

What separates the 60% (General Rating Formula for the Skin, ceiling) rating from adjacent levels?

30 percent applies once involvement or therapy duration falls into the next band down.

What separates the 0% (General Rating Formula for the Skin, floor) rating from adjacent levels?

10 percent applies once involvement reaches 5 percent, or intermittent systemic therapy is required.

What separates the 100% (DC 7817, Erythroderma, ceiling) rating from adjacent levels?

60 percent applies without systemic manifestations.

What separates the 10% (DC 7823, Vitiligo, ceiling) rating from adjacent levels?

0 percent applies when no exposed areas are affected.

What separates the 60% (DC 7825, Chronic urticaria, ceiling -- no real 0 percent tier) rating from adjacent levels?

30 percent applies for second-line treatment instead.

What separates the 60% (DC 7826, Vasculitis, ceiling -- no real 0 percent tier) rating from adjacent levels?

30 percent applies for 4+ recurrent episodes with intermittent therapy instead of persistent refractory disease.

What separates the 60% (DC 7827, Erythema multiforme/TEN, ceiling -- no real 0 percent tier) rating from adjacent levels?

30 percent applies when the same frequency of involvement does not impair mastication, hand use, or ambulation.

What separates the 30% (DC 7828, Acne, ceiling) rating from adjacent levels?

10 percent applies for less extensive or non-facial deep acne.

What separates the 20% (DC 7829, Chloracne, intertriginous-area tier) rating from adjacent levels?

30 percent applies for 40 percent or more of the face and neck instead; 10 percent applies for less extensive or non-intertriginous deep acne.

What separates the 20% (DC 7830, Scarring alopecia, ceiling) rating from adjacent levels?

10 percent applies for 20-40 percent of the scalp.

What separates the 10% (DC 7831, Alopecia areata, ceiling) rating from adjacent levels?

0 percent applies when hair loss is limited to the scalp and face.

What separates the 30% (DC 7832, Hyperhidrosis, the only tier above 0 percent) rating from adjacent levels?

0 percent applies once the veteran is able to handle paper or tools after therapy -- there is no intermediate 10 or 20 percent tier.

What separates the 100% (DC 7818, Malignant skin neoplasms other than melanoma, active-treatment phase) rating from adjacent levels?

If treatment is confined to the skin (not systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery), this 100 percent Note does not apply -- the baseline rating instead dispatches to disfigurement (DC 7800), scars (DC 7801/7802/7803/7804/7805), or impairment of function.

What separates the 100% (DC 7833, Malignant melanoma, active-treatment phase) rating from adjacent levels?

If treatment is confined to the skin (not systemic chemotherapy, extensive X-ray therapy, or extensive surgery), this 100 percent Note does not apply -- the baseline rating instead dispatches to scars (DC 7801/7802/7803/7804/7805), disfigurement (DC 7800), or impairment of function.

Ready when you are

Compare documented skin condition findings

Use the diagnosis and clinical-finding language already documented in your records. Do not upload records or enter Social Security numbers, claim numbers, full dates of birth, or other sensitive identifiers. RatingScope does not infer missing findings, resolve any of the nine open schedule ambiguities, or fully compute the DC 7805 cross-hub gap.

Informational guidance only. RatingScope does not predict, decide, or guarantee VA outcomes.

Compare my skin condition records

Learn More

Continue Understanding

Secondary conditions

Conditions commonly connected to Skin Conditions

No commonly documented secondary connections are tracked for Skin Conditions yet.

Educational Guides & Evidence Resources

In-depth analysis of DBQ forms, medical evidence thresholds, and rating schedules for Skin Conditions.

Skin Conditions & Scars C&P Exam: What VA Looks For

Understand how VA examiners evaluate scars, disfigurement, and chronic skin diseases using official Disability Benefits Questionnaires.

VA General Rating Formula for the Skin: 38 CFR 4.118 Guide

Learn how the VA evaluates dermatological disorders using the General Rating Formula for the Skin based on surface area or systemic immunosuppressive medication.

Psoriasis & Eczema: How VA Rates Chronic Dermatitis Under 38 CFR 4.118

Learn how the VA evaluates psoriasis, atopic dermatitis, and eczema under Diagnostic Codes 7806 and 7816, and how biologic medications trigger a 60% rating.

Urticaria & Chronic Hives: How VA Rates Skin Allergies Under DC 7825

Understand how the VA rates chronic urticaria and hives under 38 CFR 4.118, Diagnostic Code 7825, including daily attacks, systemic medications, and toxic exposure links.

Painful & Unstable Scars: How VA Rates Scars Under DC 7804

Learn how the VA rates painful and unstable scars under 38 CFR 4.118, Diagnostic Code 7804, and how ratings are awarded in addition to disfigurement.

How VA Rates Scars: DC 7800-7805 Disfigurement, Area, and Pain Criteria

Learn how the VA evaluates scars under 38 CFR 4.118 based on facial disfigurement, surface area, tissue loss, and painful or unstable characteristics.

Agent Orange Presumptive Conditions: Qualifying Locations, Dates, and Diseases

Explore the complete list of Agent Orange presumptive conditions under 38 CFR 3.309(e), qualifying military service locations, and PACT Act expansions.

Keep going

Compare a percentage level and combined-rating math, or review evidence context.

See all tools

VA Math & Combined Ratings

Understand the whole-person method, final rounding, and bilateral limits, then calculate how percentages combine.

Open VA Math guide

Evidence Center

Understand common evidence categories and what they can clarify without treating them as a checklist.

Open Evidence Center